Now let’s think how to spend entire summer in Qatar

Unlike last year, I don’t plan to go home, back to Indonesia, this summer. Meaning I have to spend almost entire summer in Qatar. With school (Al Khor International School) summer break starts on 8 July 2011 until 10 September 2011, I need to think how to help kids with spending and “enjoying” summer in Qatar. The thing is I only have one week work leave. Good.

Already, Qatar (primarily Qatar Tourism Authority, like one Editorial Comment from The Peninsula – Why Can’t We Have Our Own Summer Fest?) is being criticized for not providing summer activities for its citizens and expatriats, unlike its neighboring countries – see Summer in Abu Dhabi. [To me though the comment is well said if not rare stinging comment]

It turned out that I probably need to rely on own arrangement, keeping family and kids busy so that summer is quickly passing:

– One week vacation abroad to “cooler country” – stay tune to know where we are going πŸ™‚

– One-month Ramadan festivities (visit new State Mosque, visit Souq Waqif with its fasting break ritual, fasting break (iftar) in any interesting outlets, try traditional only-in-Ramadan recipes)

– Summer cleaning at home: toys, unused stuffs, recycling

– Summer experiment with heat – another stay tune to see our actions πŸ™‚

– Go to one of the mall’s summer carnival (i.e. Hyatt Plaza’s Jungle Zone)

– Take them to the seaside or water park

– Take them to cinema

– Take them to bookstore and buy some summer school break books to keep them learning

– Send them to one of the summer camps – See Timeout Doha’s 25 to try summer camps

– Enjoy Eid Al Fitr festivities – visiting friends, try delicious only-in-Eid Indonesian cuisines

What else? Any idea? Seem that I need to scratch my hair a bit harder πŸ™‚

 

One thought on “Now let’s think how to spend entire summer in Qatar”

  1. Totally! I’ve been wracking my brain and blogging about it too. I came up with Surprise Them! This can look like a hula hoop, Nutella for breakfast, midnight swimming… And the Doha Mums group has got loads of stuff going on. Hyatt Plaza Summer Festival is this month in the food court…

Comments are closed.