Dhow Cruise

It’s only after 16 months in Doha have I got an opportunity to enjoy Doha Dhow Cruise :). And now I fulfill one of my Been There Done That lists. Dhow is basically a traditional Arabic sailing vessel. For the purpose of the cruise, this dhow has been modified to include seating for more than 30 people, and powered by engine.

Typical Dhow used for dhow cruise
  • You can enjoy a dhow cruise from many spots along Doha Corniche. At least there are four spots: one near Sheraton, one near Oryx statue, one in front of Al Bidda Park and one in fishing port area
  • Cruise w ill last for about half an hour
  • Fee is minimal. For a family like us: 2 adults 2 children under 12 yrs, dhow operator charged us QR60 only
  • Normally dhow operator does not wait until its dhow is full. In our case it was only us! Seem likes a privately booked cruise
  • Dhow will cruise around Doha Bay up to palm island then make a circle move back to corniche. Different dhow might take different routes
  • Best time to enjoy dhow cruise is about 10 minutes before sunset. You can get the best of both worlds: bright and dark and also the golden hours and light during sunset
  • Dhow can also be booked entirely for party, dinner, etc. with longer cruise
  • Some dhow operators offer dhow cruise to Al Safiliya Island, berth there for activities, lunch, and back to Doha after sunset
Stunning scenery of Doha skyscrappers from dhow
I like that color gradient!

 More pictures are in my Facebook – Been There Done That – Doha Dhow Cruise

4 thoughts on “Dhow Cruise”

  1. Hello
    i’m going to spend one day in Doha. I will make a flight stop between Rome and Tanzania. I would want to do a Dhow Cruise. Can you give me the name and adress of the palce you went? Or suggest me another that you think is ok.
    And the hours of the cruise please.

    best regards and thanks
    Andreia Rodrigues

  2. hi buddy this is jagdish rana from India rajasthan

    working in five star hotel shiv vilas.
    as a Sr. bar man.am looking for sr. bar man in cruise industry.
    so plz if any vacancie.will be there plz mail me this Email id- jagdish.rana0@gmail.com

    1. Hi. This was private dhow cruise,you know the one which you can just come, pay and sail. I forgot what camera i was using in this cruise but I have Canon EOS 7D and G12. Thanks.

Comments are closed.