Costly Shift+Delete

My almost-3-year laptop is getting slow, so I am thinking to revive its performance by – one of them – moving, and deleting unnecessary files. About 55 GB of photos and videos were moved the night before to my external harddisk, and what remained were 5 folders that having problem with moving them. It was  due to some of the files has been used by another program – a typical problem caused by Apple’s Quick Time.

On that busy Thrusday morning, just 5-10 minutes before my shuttle bus picked me up, I was trying to manage the last 5 folders. For unknown reason somehow I sent all of them to Shift+Delete, instead of sending the intended files only. Shift+Delete means it is deleted permanently not to Recycle Bin. Duh! One of the folders carries all of the last one year Sony handycam video and all personal document scans!

Later I googled and found out that

When a file is deleted from your computer, its contents aren’t immediately destroyed. Windows simply marks the hard drive space as being available for use by changing one character in the file table. If you manage to start an undelete process before Windows overwrites that part of hard disk with new files you can set that flag back to “on” and get your file.

You can download some free recovery software to recover deleted files and stop using the current disk as main disk,  keep it unchangeable before recovering the files

Good news. The only thing is the 5-star rated recovery software is not free.

I purchased online a QR149 Undelete Plus recovery software (valid for 1 year 1 PC).

eSupport UndeletePlus is powerful software that can quickly scan a computer or storage medium for deleted files and restore them on command. It works with computers, flash drives, cameras, and other forms of data storage. Simply scan the device, select the files you want to recover (by types, by folder), and click a button to restore the information or picture you thought was lost forever.

I can recover some of the files. Not all. Many files has been overwritten, indicated by title that does not match with its original content. For example my Paris vacation pictures in 2011 bearing the titles of vacation trip to Bahrain in 2010 :). Some even can’t be opened.

So, whenever you delete some thing, check twice. Otherwise it would be very costly!

Oh, and it reminds one thing. Never ever store any “private” files you can’t afford to lose at any portable storage device (USB, mobile), though you have deleted all long time back. Someone evil can do harm to you, running recovery software to recover your old files!

Advertisements